Twitter is set to permanently delete inactive accounts from December 11 that have not been used for more than six months. People who haven’t been using their accounts; if they want to keep their handle, they’ll have to login by December 11 and follow the on-screen steps – including accepting the company’s latest terms and policies.
Any account that hasn’t signed in for more than six months will receive the Twitter alert before the micro-blogging platform takes the action.
In a statement given to The Verge, Twitter said on Tuesday that as part of its commitment to serve the public conversation, it is working to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information people can trust across the platform.
“Part of this effort is encouraging people to actively log-in and use Twitter when they register an account, as stated in our ‘Inactive Accounts Policy’.
“We have begun proactive outreach to many accounts who have not logged into Twitter in over six months to inform them that their accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity,” said Twitter.
It’s not clear how the company will deal with people who used to use Twitter but then stopped, but from the sounds of it those messages might be lost.